/* FB sponsored feed JS to enable their 'plugin' */

Video for first singe “Bad Medicine” out today

DEAP VALLY, the Los Angeles-based duo comprising Lindsey Troy and Julie Edwards, will release their magnificent third album, MARRIAGE, on November 19 via Cooking Vinyl. The LP release follows the band’s recent acclaimed EPs, Digital Dream and American Cockroach, and is previewed with the new single, “Magic Medicine.”


MARRIAGE follows the success of Deap Vally’s acclaimed 2013 debut, Sistrionix, and 2016’s Femejism, as well as the band’s 2020 LP with Flaming Lips as Deap Lips, a hook-up which fired up the band’s passion for collaboration, a passion that has continued through the band’s recent EPs on songs with artists including Peaches, KT Tunstall, Jennie Vee (Eagles of Death Metal), Jamie Hince (The Kills), Savages, Warpaint and more. From these incredible collaborative projects, the seeds of MARRIAGE were sown.

Say Deap Vally of the new album, “Being in a band is like being in a marriage: sometimes it’s magical, sometimes it’s unbearably challenging. To reinvigorate that marriage we’ve made album three a genre-bending experiment with new collaborators and instrumentation that push the limits of what has previously defined us. MARRIAGE is our musical Rumspringa, if you will. We’re breaking free of the rigid creative constraints within which we previously existed (two members, two instruments, two voices). Writing with the calibre of musicians that we did on this record – like jennylee, KT Tunstall, Peaches, and Jennie Vee – was an unforgettable experience, and we’re so happy to have the result of our creative rebirth eternalised in MARRIAGE.

Of the single, Troy and Edwards say “Magic Medicine is a song 5 years in the making, born in Allen Salmon’s Nashville studio, and raised in Josiah Mazzaschi’s Cave Studio back in LA.  Initially a song about being high on what-have-you (body chemistry, lab chemistry, nature’s chemistry) the lyrics have taken on a new meaning in the era of coronavirus, a moment when more than ever we need a miracle cure to make it safe to have fun and feel free again.”

Marriage Tracklisting:
1: Perfuction
2: Billions
3: Magic Medicine
4: I Like Crime (ft Jennie Vee)
5: Phoenix
6: Give Me A Sign
7: Better Run
8: I’m The Master
9: High Horse (ft KT Tunstall, Peaches)
10: Where Do We Go
11: Tsunami
12: Look Away (ft jennylee)

Since their inception, Deap Vally have sold out multiple headline tours, while their raucous onstage presence has earned them opening slots with acts including Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Blondie, Garbage and Muse, and festival slots at Glastonbury, Reading & Leeds, Austin City Limits, Desert Daze, Bonnaroo and more. Watch this space for new live dates soon!


For further information please contact:
Brendan Gilmartin, Chart Room Media

Share This