/* FB sponsored feed JS to enable their 'plugin' */
New Finbar Furey Album ‘Moments In Time’ Out Sept, 29, 2023; Single ‘Kitty’ OUT NOW

Finbar Furey is celebrating his 77th birthday with a brand new album, ‘Moments In Time’, which will be released Friday 29 September 2023.

WATCH 2min VIDEO of Finbar talking about new album ‘Moments In Time’ HERE

The album features a collection of Finbar’s own compositions and four well known traditional songs; ‘Kitty’, ‘The Rocks Of Bawn’, ‘Slieve Gallen Braes’ and ‘The Parting Glass’. Finbar brings his own unique style to these classic Irish songs, using his romantic eloquent voice to evoke ages past.

‘Music’s Door’ is Finbar’s ode to music, but there is a poignancy to it as well, in September 2022, he recorded this duet with his friend, ‘Jump The Gun’ singer Roy Taylor to raise awareness for MND which Roy was suffering from. Sadly he died in June 2023. ‘September Said Goodbye’ is an emotional cry for a lost loved one in the 9/11 tragedy.

The mood takes an upbeat turn with ‘Wild Horses’, a joyful and carefree instrumental, and ‘Blue Jewel In The Sky’, a song Finbar released in 2020 with his daughter Áine Furey, alerting us to the impending horrors of climate change. Finbar draws inspiration from the world around him. His passion for music and the plight of the underdog has always underscored his work. He has honed a talent for finding the soul of a person, a place or a time through his music.

‘Moments In Time’ reflects the artist looking back at the vagaries of life, completing the album with the timeless ‘The Parting Glass’. However, he is also looking forward, emboldened by his music he embraces and celebrates life, and most of all, love.

Finbar says ‘Shane MacGowan asked me specially to sing ‘Kitty’ for his 60th birthday event in the National Concert Hall Dublin in 2018. It was one of his mother’s favorite traditional Irish songs. It’s a beautiful song which I love singing, and when I added it to my concert setlist it always got an amazing reaction from the audience.’

WATCH ‘Kitty’ Performance VIDEO HERE

Finbar has decided to call time on touring and performing live. He has been on the road for over 55 years and feels this is the right time to stop and devote more time to his family, friends and to the golf course! However, he is still busy writing and recording, and will continue to do so into the future.

DOWNLOAD High Res Photos, Biography, WAV Audio Files HERE
PRE-SAVE Album ‘Moments In Time’ HERE

Album Tracklisting contd.

1. Moments In Time
2. Sliabh Gallen Braes
3. September Said Goodbye
4. Blue Jewel In The Sky (1st Single July 2020)
5. She Wants To Ride Horses
6. Kitty (2nd Single July 2023)
7. I’ll Take A Glass
8. The Rocks Of Bawn
9. Wild Horses
10. Music’s Door
11. Thank You For Everything
12. The Parting Glass

Finbar Furey online


Share This