Hear New Single ‘Woman’ Via PopularTV.com

Hear Additional EP Track Avalanche Via KCRW

Babble Release Show Confirmed For Brooklyn’s Rough Trade NYC July 8

Like Mayer Hawthorne & Alice Russell, paying homage to forbearers all while pushing the classic soul sound forward into contemporary shapes. – KCRW

Brooklyn-based vocalist Kendra Morris, known for her distinctively soul-tinged and deeply personal songwriting, has confirmed the June 17 EP release of Babble, her first collection of new songs since her highly praised 2010 full-length Banshee. The EP follows her equally acclaimed 2013 covers album Mockingbird and 2015 single with collaborators Scarlett Johansen, Este Haim, Holly Miranda and Julia Haltigan. Babble features seven new tracks written and performed by Morris and was produced by her long-time collaborator Jeremy Page with Page on guitar, Sam Merrick on drums, Jeremy Siegel on bass and Colin Brown on keyboards.

To celebrate, Morris will perform a special EP release show at Rough Trade NYC July 8 and producer Dave Sitek (TV on the Radio, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) will remix a track from the EP later this spring. A new full-length album is in the works for early 2017.

“This is a compilation of seven out of twenty-five or so songs I wrote over the past two years while going through some huge life changes,” says Morris. “I decided to name it ‘Babble’ because it deals with a lot of noise I was hearing in my head over the coarse of so much change. I picked these seven because I feel they needed to be the first thing anyone heard from me since my last release. They are where I’ve been, my story. When you share something it can set a piece of you free that you’ve needed to let go of. So here I am, letting go of my ‘Babble.'”

Upon release, both Banshee and Mockingbird were praised by critics and garnered Morris a featured interview on NPR’s All Things Considered, a devoted following and several film + TV placements. The title track “Banshee” was used prominently in the hit Showtime series Ray Donovan, while her cover of Pink Floyd’s “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” found itself in the trailer for major motion picture Dead Man Down.

In between extensive international touring and promotion for Banshee throughout 2013 and 2014, Morris worked on a side project band with friends Scarlett Johansson, Este Haim, Julia Haltigan and Holly Miranda, releasing their one single “Candy.”

Track Listing For Babble:
1. Le Snitch
2. Twist & Burn
3. Woman
4. Avalanche
5. Wizards Float
6. Cry Sometimes
7. Epilogue

Tickets: Rough Trade NYC

Kendra Morris online:


Share This