Crisp and disciplined, informed by American soul but also at home with the rolling six-beat vamps of Ethiopian funk – THE NEW YORK TIMES

Nikhil P. Yerawadekar & Low Mentality make some of the best music coming out of NYC. Not the best Afrobeat, not the best post-highlife, not the best South African psychedelic disco. Some of the best music, period – AFROPOP WORLDWIDE

Nikhil P. Yerawadekar & Low Mentality have confirmed the release of their debut album, Everything Lasts Forever, on April 22 on 3rd Generation Recordings. Featuring an eclectic variety of styles and influences throughout the album’s ten tracks, Yerawadekar’s songs are ultimately tied together with rich, unique grooves, catchy melodic writing and a wry, poetic point of view.The band’s eclectic nature is on full display throughout the album’s ten tracks, and though they display a wide variety of stylistic influences, the songs are ultimately tied together elegantly by the rich, unique grooves, Yerawadekar’s catchy melodic writing and his wry, poetic point of view.

On Everything Lasts Forever, Yerawadekar’s songs reflect both the sounds of his upbringing in New York City’s most diverse borough of Queens, and those of his musical career working in groups such as the afrobeat juggernaut Antibalas and with artists like the Ethiopian keyboard legend Hailu Mergia. The result is a rock and roll sound that is undeniably fresh, new and hip, but with its diversity of flavors, it also has entry points for almost any listener, regardless of where they’re coming from.

Everything Lasts Forever was produced by Yerawadekar, who also delivers lead vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion and drum programming. The bulk of the other performances on the record come from the current Low Mentality lineup of Omar Little (Lee “Scratch” Perry) on trumpet, sampler and keyboards, Chauncey Yearwood (High & Mighty Brass Band) on congas, Pavel Kogan-Liakhov (Hess Is More) on guitar and Kevin Raczka (Lee Fields, Valerie June) on drums. Fellow Antibalas members Timothy Allen (bass, backing vocals), Marcus Farrar (backing vocals) and Will Rast (percussion) make significant contributions, as do Yerawadekar’s colleagues from projects such as the Pimps Of Joytime, Half Waif and Nook. Producer and turntablist DJ Center also appears on the album, adding a otherworldly element to “Jazz Now.”

The 90’s dancehall rhythms of the rat race anthem “Big Time Distraction” are interwoven with bluesy guitar picking, the cumbia rhythms of the media critique “Six Shooter AKA The History Of Dance,” featuring soul singer Kendra Morris, are coupled with dub reggae stylings, and the introspective “Bad Imagination” conducts an examination of Yerawadekar’s most unnameable thoughts over a bed of lush percussion and group interplay that is impossible to nail down geographically.

Everything Lasts Forever renders debates about genre moot. The album is Yerawadekar’s effort to understand all the material he’s collected throughout the different stages of his life, and how all the different pieces relate to one another today. With the result being a collection of danceable, memorable and personal songs, Everything Lasts Forever demands that listeners loosen up and celebrate their own lifetimes of bass heavy, funky experiences.

Pre-order Link:

Nikhil P. Yerawadekar & Low Mentality:

Share This